Adventures in Seeing: Welcome the Unexpected, Part Two

As I mentioned in my last post, sometimes the unexpected is very difficult to welcome. The header photograph is my record of some of the unexpected things we had to deal with last month. A fortnight on, things are beginning to settle down, and I’m trying to get back to something approaching normal – whatever the new normal is.  

Creativity is still limited: I’ve found sticking to established routines helps. Creative Sprint, which has been my life saver, has finished, but I’m trying to keep the impetus going by resuming 365 – Make Something Every Day.


I’ve concentrated on filling in the gaps where I missed days out before, and using familiar techniques because I don’t have the emotional energy to try anything too new. I do like the blue feather, though.


The Year of Stitches is making slow progress, but this one has reached the stage where I’m thinking ‘I quite like this’ which motivates me to finish it, so I speed up. I’m planning an outbreak of flowers in the centre, spilling over the lines.


I’m still knitting samples from Nicky Epstein’s ‘Knitting in Circles’, but I have also made an SKO. 

This is a particularly strange ‘strange knitted object’ because the wool (Airedale Wool’s ‘Lustre’, which is otherwise lovely), biased – hence the slanting embroidery and the off balance shape. I don’t usually block SKO’s, but I’m thinking of experimenting with stuffing them with plastic bags to try to even out some of the lumps and bumps. 

When I sat down to write this I thought it was going to be short, because I hadn’t done much – but there ‘s more than I thought. So even if no-one’s reading this, I’ve cheered myself up a bit, which has to be good.

Leave a Reply

