Weeks 14 and 15

We have had some unseasonably warm weather, and this, together with the clocks going forward, seems to have improved my motivation. ‘Untitled’ and ‘Great Art?’ are now finished. In the case of ‘Great Art?’ – now retitled ‘Earth to Earth’ – it is not only finished but gone, after a short but adventurous life. I took the dipyramids on a day trip to the seaside where they had a paddle – and in some cases a swim from which they did not return.

After bringing those that had not escaped home, and drying them out, I attempted to burn them. My intention was to have a bonfire on the drive, but they were reluctant to cooperate, so I ended up using  and old barbecue and some lighter fluid, for a short but satisfying bonfire.

Now all I have left are the ashes.

‘Untitled’ also had a brief trip outside, but will not be staying there though these pieces all seem to look at their best outside.

I have also made progress with ‘Saga’ – innumerable brochure pages have been rolled. ‘Saga’ makes me think of age and story telling as well as travel, and I have been thinking about how to get that into the piece. When finished, it may go outside to mature, but it has had premature ageing with some sandpaper. I am also experimenting with discolouring the rather bright white pages – I have tried the ‘natural’ colours of coffee, tea and walnut ink of different forms, without much success, so may have to resort to Brusho.   I am also thinking of adding the accrued crud of ages through the entirely artificial means of filigree fluid and embossing powder. [I knew all that sampling at the beginning would come in useful.]

While sitting sanding ‘Saga’ I thought about the relationship between names and what I do to the tubes. For example ‘Chronicle’ has all sorts of resonances which my two versions, made very early on in this series, don’t reflect. My next step may be to make ‘Chronicle 3’ with a little more thought – although there is the problem that the name has similar resonances to ‘Saga’. Perhaps ‘Guardian’? – newspaper names seem to lend themselves to my work – although there are some papers I could never bring myself to buy, even for the sake of art.

On a completely different topic, after discussing the business plan with Sue on the last day of term, I have started thinking about writing it. Sue agreed that rather than a complete plan, we could write an outline of what we would need to include if we were to write a full one. So I have Googled and mind mapped – and ended up more confused than when I started. It is possible to have too much information. However, it is a start – and provided my motivation survives the disappearance of the lovely weather, I intend to sort it out over the holidays.

Leave a Reply

